Florida Adjuster License Renewal & CE

Author: Ethan Peyton
Updated:

This guide contains the costs, continuing education requirements, and links for Florida adjuster license renewal.

This guide is for Florida Residents and Designated Home State license holders. If you are renewing a non-resident license, scroll down to the non-resident section.

Resident Renewal

Continuing Education

CE Requirement | 24 credits

CE Cost | ~$49

How to Renew Your Florida Adjuster License

FL adjuster license renewal is a simple process. Essentially, you’ll just need to complete your CE requirements during your license term and renew any appointments before their expiration date.

In Florida, adjuster licenses don’t expire – they are “perpetual” as long as there is an active appointment. Appointments on your license, however, do have an expiration date.

As long as you renew at least one appointment and complete your bi-annual continuing education requirement, your license will not expire.

You can find appointment expiration dates and CE due dates using MyProfile, Florida’s license management platform.

Step 1: Complete your Continuing Education Requirements

The first step to renewing your Florida adjuster license is to complete your continuing education requirements (CE).

The CE requirement for adjusters is: 24 total credits, including 4 in ethics and law. 

There are two ways to meet your continuing education requirements:

Take an Online CE Course

This is the most common method. 

These are self-paced, video/text courses that fill your entire credit requirement. It’s the most simple and quick way to get the education you need. It’s also the most price-effective method.

Check out our recommended CE course – $49.

Take a Class at an Adjuster Event

This method is less common. 

Adjuster conferences, conventions, and other events often offer CE credits for attending classes at the event. 

The downside is that these classes generally only offer 1-4 credit hours each. It’s better to see these classes as more targeted training, rather than a reliable CE path.

Check out our Adjuster Events page to find events near you.

When to Take Continuing Education Courses

You can take continuing education courses any time during your two year license term. 

The Florida Department of Financial Services recommends you finish your CE credits 7 or more days before your expiration date. This allows time for the course provider to submit proof of completion and for the state’s system to update. 

Note

Continuing education is easy to complete, but it’s also easy to forget. Don’t put it off until the last minute!

Step 2: Adjuster License Appointment Renewal

30 days before the expiration date of an appointment, the FDFS will send an appointment renewal invoice to the appointee.

If you’ve changed your mailing or email address since your last renewal, be sure to update your information in MyProfile so you don’t miss any correspondence from the state.

The timing of your CE due date and your appointment renewal dates may not line up, so be sure to keep a record of these different dates.

The adjuster license appointment renewal fee is $60, which you can pay inside of MyProfile.

Florida Non-Resident Adjuster License Renewal

Non-Resident Renewal

Continuing Education

CE | Follow your home state

Renewing your non-resident Florida adjuster license is simple. The process includes keeping your home state license in good standing and renewing at least one license appointment.

Step 1: Home State License Maintenance

To keep your Florida non-resident license active, the first step is to ensure your home state license is in good standing.

Good standing essentially means keeping up with your continuing education and renewing on time.

As mentioned above, license expiration dates from home states and non-resident states don’t often line up, so tracking all of your license data in a spreadsheet or calendar is a wise move.

Note

If your home state or designated home state doesn’t have a continuing education requirement (AZ, CT, HI, ME, MI, NY, SC, VT), you still need to complete CE to sustain your non-resident licenses.

The generally accepted solution to this issue is:

  1. Pick a state where you have a non-resident license, we’ll call this your “CE State
  2. Ensure your CE state has a sufficient CE requirement (24 credits)
  3. Complete continuing education for your CE state

Texas is the most common choice for CE State.

Step 2: Renew License Appointments

Florida’s adjuster license technically doesn’t expire, but the appointments on the license do.

30 days before the expiration date of an appointment, the FDFS will send an appointment renewal invoice to the appointee.

If you’ve changed your mailing or email address since your last renewal, be sure to update your information in MyProfile so you don’t miss any correspondence from the state.

The non-resident adjuster license appointment renewal fee is $60, which you can pay inside of MyProfile.

Florida Adjuster License Late Renewal and Reinstatement

If you’ve let all your license appointments expire, depending on the length of time past the expiration date, there are options to submit a late renewal or reinstate your license

As with the standard renewal, you must complete your CE requirements before late renewal or reinstatement.

From 1 day to 45 days after the expiration date, you can late renew the appointment. The fee for late renewal is the initial $60 renewal fee, plus a $25 late fee.

If an appointment is not renewed within 45 days of the expiration date, it will be cancelled.

To reinstate a canceled appointment, you may submit a new appointment with a back-dated effective date. If the effective date is more than 45 days prior to the current date, a late fee of $250 will be added to the $60 renewal fee.

Details on appointments can be found on the FDFS FAQ page.

If your license has expired and you need to apply for a new license, you can find those instructions on our Florida Adjuster License guide.

Florida Adjuster License Renewal & CE FAQ

How much does it cost to renew an Florida adjuster license?

For residents, the cost to renew an Florida adjuster license is around $60 per appointment, plus ~$49 for continuing education.

What are the continuing education requirements for the Florida adjuster license?

The CE requirement for the Florida adjuster license is: 24 credits, including 4 in ethics and law. 

How do I check my CE credits in Florida?

You can use the MyProfile to find your transcript of CE credits in Florida.