How to Get a Louisiana Adjuster License

Author: Ethan Peyton
Updated:

To get your Louisiana Adjuster license, you’ll need to follow a few steps. These steps include taking an Louisiana adjuster course, passing the state adjuster exam, filing your application and paying licensing fees, and submitting your fingerprints.

We’ve put together this step-by-step guide to ensure your licensing journey is as simple and inexpensive as possible. This guide also covers adjuster requirements and prerequisites along with steps to take after getting your license. Be sure to bookmark this page so you can reference the steps as you need them.

Recommended

We recommend AdjusterPro adjuster courses to prepare for your exam. Louisiana courses start at $179.

Louisiana Adjuster License Requirements

Before you begin the steps to getting your Louisiana adjuster license there’s a few requirements you’ll need to ensure you qualify.

  • You must be 18 years of age or older, competent, and trustworthy
  • You must be a resident of Louisiana (non-residents will need to apply for a different license)
  • You must be able to pass a background check (more info in step 3)

Along with these requirements, you’ll also need to choose which lines of insurance you’d like to work within.

  • Automobile Adjuster – Series 201
  • Personal Lines Adjuster – Series 202
  • Commercial Lines Adjuster – Series 203
  • Property and Casualty (P&C) Adjuster – Series 204
  • Crop Adjuster – Series 205
  • Workers’ Compensation Adjuster – Series 206

Unlike other states, Louisiana doesn’t offer an “all-lines” license, meaning that you’ll need to test individually for each line you’d like to adjust. We recommend starting with the Property and Casualty (P&C) Adjuster – Series 204, then moving into the other lines as you need them.

Louisiana Adjuster License Course

Before you apply for the license or take the exam, you’ll need to take a Louisiana Adjuster License course.

These courses are designed to prepare you to pass your exam. The exams don’t contain any “common sense” questions – rather, the information tested is dense insurance law and ethics. Taking a training course is the only way to prepare for and pass the test.

Some courses offer not only test prep, but instruction on the day-to-day operations and duties of an adjuster. If you don’t have any experience handling claims, it would be wise to consider these higher-level courses.

Recommended

We recommend AdjusterPro as our adjuster course of choice. Courses start at $179.

How to Get a Louisiana Adjuster License

To get a Louisiana Adjuster license, you’ll complete your adjuster course, pass the exam, submit your fingerprints, and file your application and fees.

A common question we receive is: How much is the Louisiana adjuster license? Prices will vary depending on the type of license, but the most common license will cost as little as $290.

Another common question is: How long does it take to get the Louisiana adjuster license? If you take the proper time to study and pass the exam on your first attempt, the process should take around 3-4 weeks.

Step 1: Louisiana Adjuster License Course

The first step to getting your adjuster license is taking your test-prep course.

As mentioned above, we recommend AdjusterPro’s courses.

The prices of these courses range depending on the provider and level of coursework, but generally start around $179.

Be sure that you’re comfortable with the material in the coursework before moving on to your state exam. AdjusterPro recommends that you consistently score 90% or better on the course quizzes before taking the real test.

Step 2: Louisiana Adjuster Exam

Once you’ve completed your adjuster course, the next step is to pass the Louisiana Adjuster Exam.

To register to take the exam, use the PSI LADI testing website

The passing score of each of the exams is a minimum of 70% correct answers.

Depending on the type of license you’re working toward, the number of questions and time allotted for the exam differ. See the table below for details.

Adjuster License TypeCostQuestionsTime AllottedExam Outline
Automobile Adjuster – Series 201$15601 hour and 10 minutesExam Outline
Personal Lines Adjuster – Series 202$151002 hoursExam Outline
Commercial Lines Adjuster – Series 203$151002 hoursExam Outline
Property and Casualty (P&C) Adjuster – Series 204$151502 hours and 40 minutesExam Outline
Crop Adjuster – Series 205$15601 hour and 10 minutesExam Outline
Workers’ Compensation Adjuster – Series 206$15601 hour and 10 minutesExam Outline

Is the Louisiana Adjuster Exam Hard?

A common question we receive is: Is the adjuster exam hard?

Difficulty is a subjective matter, but we answer this question with: Yes. The exam is intentionally tough.

Don’t let this discourage you. Keep in mind that most folks who take this exam haven’t taken any formal tests since high school or college. The state intentionally makes these tests difficult in the hopes of protecting the average citizen from working with adjusters who don’t understand the laws and guidelines surrounding insurance.

The key to passing the exam is to take your exam-prep course seriously and allow yourself time for in-depth study. 

Check out our Adjuster Exam Study Guide for tips and strategies to pass your exam on the first attempt.

Step 3: Submit Fingerprints

After passing your exam, the next step is to have your fingerprints taken with PSI.

The fingerprint fee is $39.25.

If you took your exam in-person at a PSI location, ask them to take your fingerprints while you are there.

If you don’t take fingerprints on the same day as your exam, you can walk into any of the PSI locations – no appointment required.

Locations include Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Metairie, Monroe, Shreveport, and Pineville. Find addresses, hours, and further information on the PSI Fingerprinting Instructions.

Note

Submitting your fingerprints will initiate a background check. If you have any past offenses on your record and are curious of your eligibility for an insurance license, you can submit a Request for Pre-Application Eligibility Determination form or reach out to the LDI licensing department for clarification.

Step 4: Louisiana Adjuster Application

Once you’ve submitted your fingerprints, the next step is to apply for your license.

The fee to submit an application is $55. Apply for your license using the NIPR Louisiana Insurance Application page.

Note

  • The application fee is $55 no matter how many lines you’re applying for. If you plan on getting more than one line, consider testing for multiple lines, then applying once to save on fees.
  • LDI receives test scores from PSI within 1-2 days after you’ve passed the examination.

Application and Background Check Processing

Once you’ve completed all of the steps above you’ll just need to wait for the background check to come back and the licensing department to process all the paperwork. LDI will contact you if they need any supporting documentation or have any questions. Be sure to respond promptly to any requests.

If everything goes smoothly, you’ll receive a message from the licensing department within 7-10 days containing your license number and any other pertinent information. You can check the status of your license online using the Louisiana Insurance License Search tool.

Congratulations! You are now a licensed insurance adjuster in Louisiana!

After Getting Your License

Now that you’re licensed, you can get to work! Most folks take one of two paths at this point. They choose to become an independent adjuster or a staff adjuster.

The main difference is that staff adjusters are employed by one firm, usually an insurance company, whereas independent adjusters operate as contractors, normally being “rostered” to multiple Independent Adjusting (IA) firms.

If you’re interested in becoming a staff adjuster, check out the current job openings on StateRequirement Jobs. If the independent adjuster role is more alluring (we think it is), check out AdjusterPro’s IA Directory.

Adjuster Certifications

To be considered a great candidate for IA firms or insurance companies, you’ll need to prove that you know how to actually work an insurance claim. Certifications show that you know your stuff and will give you a strong advantage over other candidates. 

While there are several adjuster certifications available, focus on Xactimate and Insurance Company certs first.

Xactimate Certifications

Xactimate is the industry standard software used by adjusters and insurance companies. There are three levels of certification offered by Xactimate

You should strongly consider levels one and two now, and look into level three after you’ve spent some time in the field.

Insurance Company Adjuster Certifications

Large insurance companies like State Farm, Allstate, Liberty Mutual, and others require that adjusters (staff or independent) get their specific certifications. 

To get these certs, you’ll need to be on the roster of an IA firm that works with that company. They offer courses to their adjusters throughout the year. Staff adjusters that work for the insurance company will be provided training and certification through their employer.

It’s widely accepted that State Farm’s adjuster certification is the most valuable insurance company cert. They are the largest insurer in the US, and therefore have more claims than other insurers.

Out-of-State and Reciprocal Licensing

Most claims, especially catastrophe (CAT) claims come from weather events. And since you can’t control the weather, you should get licenses in states outside your home state. These are called Non-Resident Adjuster Licenses.

IA firms are much more likely to both roster you and select you for work if you are licensed in states where they operate. If you’re already on a roster or two, talk with your contact there to see if they recommend a state to get licensed in.

The best states to start with are generally those that neighbor your home state. For Louisiana, this includes:

  • Texas
  • Arkansas
  • Mississippi
  • Alabama
  • Florida

All these states offer what’s called reciprocation with Louisiana. This means that you don’t need to take a pre-licensing course or pass an exam in order to get their license. All you need to do is apply, pay the fee, and you’ll be licensed quickly.

License Renewal and Continuing Education

The Louisiana Adjuster License expires every two years. To keep your license active, you must:

  • Complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE) coursework
  • Pay the renewal fee of $50

Any additional non-resident licenses you hold will also expire. Most state licenses expire every two years and require a renewal fee. Note that unless the state specifically requires it, you will not be required to take CE courses for each state – just your home state.

Find instructions on our Louisiana Adjuster License Renewal guide.

References and Links

Louisiana Department of Insurance

1702 N Third St
PO Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
(225) 342-0860
Licensing Contact Form